Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 4th, 2010

A Rare Gesture

Last week while returning from office I boarded the Metro from Noida City Centre to Rajiv Chowk. Since City Centre is the starting point of the journey, there is less rush in the train. As I took my seat in one of the lightly populated compartment, a policeman also entered the same compartment and sat right next to me. The moment he sat beside me, some kind of uneasiness grew inside me; “Doesn’t he find any other seat”, I thought at that moment. Don’t know exactly why, but I’m never comfortable with a policeman. I have hardly faith in police, this is entirely my personal opinion. May be due to the news of corrupt policemen that flocked the news channels every now and then or may be the fact that I haven’t met an honest policemen till date (I don’t have much interaction experience with the police in my entire life :-().

So, as the policeman was sitting beside me, the thought of the entire police system came to my mind, and I was really uncomfortable. After a while, an elderly woman entered the train. At that time there’s no one standing in our compartment; however, there was not a single vacant seat either. I was thinking whether I should offer my seat or not. But to my surprise, the policman stand up and offered his seat to the lady. For a moment, I was a bit perplexed. In fact, the fact that a policeman can show such kind of courtesy was unbelievable for me. I tried to look at the policeman afterwards. He was standing a few metres away from me with a calm face, which was not the face of a policman (according to me). I realized it was nothing but a mere prejudice of mine on the policeman. There are good policmen and ulitmately they are not someone other than human. However, though I have understood that this is what I used to think about policmen, I’m still not fully convinced about the policemen as a whole. For me, this incident was a rare gesture from the part of a policeman. Waiting for some more such instances that might help to change my opinion completely.

Note: My opinions are my personal views, and I’ve mentioned that I might be prejudiced in my opinions. Also, my exposure in this context is very limited. So, hope everybody will take it in the same context.

Read Full Post »